
Independent guide · Ireland
Irish SIM-only plans, explained.
Lidl Connect, ten other providers and how to switch, in plain words. Every price links to its source and shows the date it was checked.
Lidl Connect launch offer
Unlimited 5G for
for life
€12.99 standard price · €48 a year less, as reported by Goosed.ie, Irish Examiner, The Irish Times.
For the first 100,000 customers or until 31 December 2026, whichever comes first, once per Lidl Plus account. Reported by the press; Lidl's official price list shows €12.99.
A year of unlimited data
First-year cost with intro prices and activation fees; 28-day plans counted 13 times. Prices checked 2026-10-10. All eleven plans
Lidl Connect
€12.99 a month on eir.
Lidl Connect is Lidl's SIM-only plan in Ireland, sold in the Lidl Plus app since 5 October 2026. One plan: unlimited data in Ireland, 50GB roaming in the EU and EEA, the UK, Switzerland, Ukraine and Moldova, a free eSIM and no contract. Over a year it costs €155.88 at its official price.
- Price
- €12.99 a month, no activation fee[1]
- Network
- eir, with 5G, VoLTE and WiFi calling[5]
- In Ireland
- Unlimited data, calls and texts, no throttling[6]
- Abroad
- 50GB a month in the EU and EEA, the UK, Switzerland, Ukraine and Moldova; nothing outside[6]
- SIM
- Free eSIM, or a €0.99 physical SIM in store[7]
- Contract
- None: monthly, cancel any time[5]

What you can do here
Choose. Switch. Set up.
-
01Compare
Eleven unlimited plans, one table.
Sorted by what you pay in the first year, with 28-day plans counted as 13 payments and activation fees added.
Compare plans → -
02Switch
Keep your number. Lose nothing you can keep.
Exit fees, notice and unused credit for every Irish provider, from the law and their own terms.
How switching works → -
03Set up
SIM or eSIM, in the right order.
Which SIM stays in your phone while the number moves, and what to check once you are across.
Sign up and activate →
Switching
Who are you with now?
Each guide sets that provider beside Lidl Connect and shows how to leave it: notice, exit fees, unused credit and what you lose.
- GoMoSame eir network as Lidl Connect→
- 48On Three's network→
- eirSame eir network as Lidl Connect→
- VodafoneOn Vodafone's network→
- ThreeOn Three's network→
- Tesco MobileOn Three's network→
- Clear MobileOn Vodafone's network→
- Virgin MobileOn a network it does not name→
- An Post MobileOn Vodafone's network→
- LycamobileSame eir network as Lidl Connect→
- Other / not sureHow switching works with any provider→
Lidl Connect guides
- Sign up and activateThe Lidl Plus app, step by step.→
- Set up the eSIMiPhone and Android, and why you wait for the transfer.→
- Roaming and the 50GB limitWhere it works, Northern Ireland, and outside Europe.→
- Coverage, 5G and VoLTEeir’s network, the 3G switch-off, one speed test.→
- Not working?Fixes by symptom, and who to contact.→
- Your unused creditWhat the law says, provider by provider.→
Compare
The cheapest SIM-only plans in Ireland.
| Provider | Network | Price | First year | Data | 5G | eSIM | EU roaming | Contract | Activation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 48 | Three | €12.99 a month | €147.87 | Unlimited | Yes | Not stated | 20GB | None, monthly prepay | €9.99 |
| Clear Mobile | Vodafone | €12.99 a month | €155.88 | Unlimited 5G | Yes | No | 23GB | 30 days, rolling | €12.99 |
| Lidl Connect | eir | €12.99 a month | €155.88 | Unlimited, no throttling | Yes | Yes | 50GB | None, monthly | €0 |
| GoMo | eir | €12.99 a month | €168.87 | All 5G data, 120GB fair use threshold | Yes | Yes | 23GB | 30 days, rolling | €12.99 |
| Tesco Mobile | Three | €30 a month | €180 | Unlimited | Yes | Not stated | 36.95GB | 12 months | €0 |
Prices checked on 2026-10-10 on each provider’s own page. 28-day plans are charged 13 times a year. First-year cost includes intro prices and activation fees. Lidl Connect is shown at its official price; the €8.99 launch price is reported by the press, not in Lidl’s price list.
How we work
The facts, and where they come from.
Providers’ own terms and price lists, ComReg and Irish law. Press-only claims are marked “reported”.
Every fact shows when it was checked. Nothing goes more than 30 days without a new check.
No commission, no adverts, no affiliate links. Sign-up links go straight to the provider.
Frequently asked questions
Is IrishSim part of Lidl or a mobile operator?
No. IrishSim is an independent guide. It is not affiliated with Lidl, 1GLOBAL, eir or any operator, and it sells nothing.
Does IrishSim cover eSIM plans?
Yes. Every plan in the comparison shows whether the provider offers eSIM, and the Lidl Connect eSIM guide covers setting one up.
Can I sign up for a plan through IrishSim?
No. IrishSim has no forms and no accounts. Every sign-up link goes to the provider’s own page or app.
Where these facts come from
Every fact on this page comes from one of these sources. We opened each one on the date shown.
- Lidl Connect mobile price list, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-09-04 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Lidl Connect launches in Ireland with €8.99 unlimited 5G SIM-only plan, Goosed.ie, 2026-09-28 (checked 2026-10-10)
- Lidl enters Irish mobile phone market with €8.99 a month offer, Irish Examiner, 2026-09-28 (checked 2026-10-10)
- Retailer Lidl enters Irish mobile market, The Irish Times, 2026-09-28 (checked 2026-10-10)
- Lidl Connect, Lidl Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Lidl Connect Fair Use Policy, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-07-27 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Are there any extra costs for a physical SIM?, Lidl Ireland customer service (checked 2026-10-10)Official